love to learn - learn from projects with lessons learned workshops

A 'Lessons Learned Workshop' in 5 steps

As a team or organization, we all aspire to be at the top, when playing the role of quality or innovation leader. Maybe we even want to become a "learning organization" will. In order to be able to meet this requirement, you have to consistently implement a continuous improvement process. In this article we present everything about the topic “Lessons Learned Workshop” and show how you can use this format to continuously develop yourself. Our Lessons Learned Checklist will certainly help you with this.

What is a 'Lessons Learned Workshop'?

As the term "Lessons Learned" suggests, a Lessons Learned Workshop is about enabling a team to learn from previous experience. 

In a 'Lessons Learned Workshop', you look retrospectively at past teamwork. Therefore, the workshop format in agile teams and in scrum is also called a Retrospective . “Team Debriefs” is also a commonly used synonym in a different context.

The goal of 'lessons learned workshops' or simply retrospectives (abbreviated “retros”) remains the same: to derive a continuous learning process from practical experience in order to develop continuously.

Introducing 'lessons learned workshops' to my team or project

If your goal is having a continuous improvement process in yours projects or teams, 'lessons learned workshops' are suitable for you. 

A frequent reason for this introduction is the achievement of project milestones or project completions. At such times, depending on the size of the team, the team takes at least 60 to 180 minutes to reflect on the “how”, and to derive knowledge and possibly also arrangements for the future.

In agile teams that work together long term, such a format is even firmly integrated into the daily routine, taking place at a weekly to monthly frequency, depending on the sprint rhythm.

From our perspective, more and more teams are adapting these continuous formats with great success.

What is the use of Lessons Learned Workshops?

Many managers would probably react to this idea like: “Invest 60 to 90 minutes in a reflection every 2 weeks? What is that supposed to achieve?!"

Fortunately, studies have answered this question before. Tannenbaum und Cerasoli (2013) have demonstrated in a meta-study that the effectiveness of teams through this self-reflection (when done correctly) increases by an average of between 20% and 25%.

Practical examples

How do these productivity gains come about? Here are a few examples of the questions that, combined with the right measures, can create such productivity gains:

  • Working methods: So far, we have recorded every step of our progress in an Excel, and updating them with different versions has always caused a lot of work and confusion. A possible measure/solution: Try out online tools such as Trello or Notion to organize the projects, so that versions no longer have to be put together manually.
  • Self-organization & decision-making processes: We hardly know how far someone is with their sub-project. Should we try a “daily stand-up” format to improve team coordination?
  • Communication within the team and with stakeholders: The drafts for new products are only shared with the stakeholders relatively late, when a lot of work has already been invested into them. How can we get regular feedback from our stakeholders earlier?
  • Prioritization: Although we gained new insights during the course of the project, we stuck to our original prioritization. How can we ensure that we take better advantage of the new knowledge in our future planning?

Of course, these topics could also be recognized and improved without a lessons learned workshop. But through a structured feedback process - without the stress of everyday life - such issues can arise on their own.

A lessons learned workshop is therefore a very efficient format when it comes to identifying and implementing improvement potential or blockers. It is also particularly positive that this process is self-organized within the teams, which further increases commitment and satisfaction within the team.

How can I prepare and conduct a Lessons Learned Workshop? - a template

These workshops, once internalized within a team, are not difficult to implement at all. The course of action combines the best practices of workshop moderation, which will look familiar to many. There are of course countless methods of facilitating these workshops, the 5 steps of the Lessons Learned Checklist offer a simple example of a successful workshop:

Step 1: Check-in with an open question

The workshop should be as interactive as possible, which is why the best practices often start with an open question that every team member answers on their turn. This way, everyone is involved in the conversation. Some examples can be:

  • On a scale of 0-10, how confident are you that we will achieve our project / team goal, and why?
  • What was the biggest setback or success for you in the last week (or month ...)?

Step 2: Collect topics

While the first step is to ensure that everyone is in a "lessons learned" mode, the next step is to collect the feedback in a structured manner. In order to avoid "group thinking" , this should be done individually before sharing topics to the rest of the group.

Here, too, different question formats can be used to stimulate the conversation. We see these following examples particularly often:

  • Good-Bad (a simple variant for beginners): What went well? What didn't go so well?
  • Keep-stop-start (popular, leads better from status quo to measures, rather than "start-stop-continue"): What should we continue working with, just like before? What should we stop doing as a team? What should we start doing as a team, or at least try it out?
  • Expected-Unexpected (good for a variety): What happened, that you expected to happen in advance? What went positively that you didn't expect in advance? What went worse than you expected?
The goal of our Echometer tool is by the way to help to conduct such Lessons Learned Workshops. It helps to keep the workshop in the right structure and impress your team with your facilitation skills.
 
You can carry out a Lessons Learned workshop online with our tool without having to register 🙂
 
Following the button, you can open the tool, choose your Lessons Learned workshop method and invite your team via link – I recommend the "Keep-Stop-Start" method:

There are more than 30 lessons learned Methods possible (aka retrospective methods) – some of them are pretty creative and playful.

If you are still unsure, simply read through Holger's (Agile Coach) experiences with our tool . 

Our tool also helps with prioritization, which leads us to the next step.

Step 3: Prioritize topics

Once the topics have been collected and grouped thematically, you can proceed to prioritization. This is about identifying the most important topics and findings, that you, as a team, want to keep a record of.

Ideally, each team member has three points or notes for prioritization, which are then glued to the "public" feedback (for example, on the flipchart) depending on personal preference. Everyone can simply vote with a marker. The feedback, which has the most tallies counted, would be considered most urgent - and measures can be derived from there.

Step 4: Derive measures

As a team, you then decide how you want to put the knowledge you have gained into practice. The measures should meet certain standards, perhaps corresponding to the SMART-Formula.

An important note is to remember not to take too many measures: concentrate on the 3 most important topics. Otherwise, it will be difficult to actually tackle all measures, which will leave the team in doubt of the lessons learned format as a whole.

Our recommendation is to do a short lessons learned workshop with three measures every 2 to 4 weeks, rather than a “big one” every 6 months, where, realistically, only 4 of the 10 measures can be implemented.

Step 5: Closing

At the end, it should be summarized which insights have been gained, and which measures have been recorded. This step can also be made interactive by an open question to all participants:

  • What was the most important lesson you learned from the lessons learned workshop today?
  • What are you going to do for yourself in the near future?

Lessons Learned Workshop - conclusion

 

Working without lessons learned = caught in a hamster wheel

Of course, this format takes time. That is why it is important for us to emphasize here that enough time should be made for lessons learned workshops. This can be stressful during phases towards the end of a project, but should not be skipped. 

After all, this is the only way to ensure that you don't fall into the same traps again next time and stay trapped in the hamster wheel. In an emergency, it would be better to have a short lessons learned workshop, rather than none.

In the next post , we also have a few tips & other best practices for your lessons learned workshops!

Articles you may also be interested in

Try the Spotify Health Check Retrospective!

First question: "😍 We love going to work, and have great fun working together."

Sounds interesting? Try the format in our retro tool:

I just finished my ebook „12 psychology-based retrospective methods“ – Interested?

Christian Heidemeyer, Psychologist & Scrum Master

love to learn - lernen aus projekten mit lessons learned workshops

Lessons Learned Workshop in 5 Schritten

Auf linkedin teilen
Auf twitter teilen
Auf facebook teilen
Auf email teilen

Wir alle haben als Team oder Organisation den Anspruch, ganz oben in der Rolle als Qualitäts- oder Innovationsführer mitzuspielen. Vielleicht wollen wir sogar zur “lernenden Organisation” werden. Um diesem Anspruch gerecht werden zu können, muss man konsequent einen kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozess umsetzen. In diesem Artikel stellen wir alles zum Thema “Lessons Learned Workshop” vor und zeigen, wie ihr dieses Format nutzen könnt, um euch kontinuierlich weiterzuentwickeln.

Was ist ein Lessons Learned Workshop?

Wie schon der englische Begriff Lessons Learned (auf deutsch „Gelernte Lektionen“) andeutet, geht es bei einem Lessons Learned Workshop darum, das Lernen aus Erfahrungen zu forcieren. 

In einem Lessons Learned Workshop blickt man retrospektiv auf die vergangene Zusammenarbeit im Team. Daher wird das Workshop Format in agilen Teams und in Scrum auch Retrospektive genannt. Auch “Team Debriefs” ist als Begriff in unterschiedlichen Kontexten ein geläufiges Synonym.

Das Ziel von Lessons Learned Workshops oder eben Retrospektiven (kurz “Retros”) bleibt das Gleiche: Aus den Erfahrungen in der Praxis einen kontinuierlichen Lernprozess abzuleiten, um sich stetig weiterzuentwickeln.

Einführen von Lessons Learned Workshops für mein Team oder Projekt

Sofern dein Ziel ein kontinuierlicher Verbesserungsprozess in Projekten oder Teams ist, kommen Lessons Learned Workshops für dich in Frage. 

Ein häufiger Anlass für die Einführung sind Erreichungen von Projektmeilensteinen oder Projektabschlüsse. Zu solchen Zeitpunkten nimmt man sich als Team je nach Teamgröße mindestens 60 bis 180 Minuten Zeit, um das “Wie” zu reflektieren und daraus Erkenntnisse und eventuell auch Maßnahmen für die Zukunft abzuleiten.

In agilen Teams, die langfristig zusammenarbeiten, wird so ein Format sogar fest im Arbeitsalltag integriert und findet je nach Sprint Rhythmus mit einer wöchentlichen bis monatlichen Frequenz statt.

Wir sehen, dass immer mehr Teams diese kontinuierlichen Formate mit großem Erfolg adaptieren.

Was nützen uns Lessons Learned Workshops?

Viele Manager würden wahrscheinlich jetzt so reagieren: “Alle 2 Wochen 60 bis 90 Minuten in Reflektion investieren? Was soll das denn bringen?!”

Glücklicherweise haben Studien hierauf eine gute Antwort. Tannenbaum und Cerasoli (2013) haben in einer Meta-Studie nachweisen können, dass die Effektivität von Teams durch diese Selbstreflexion (bei richtiger Anwendung) durchschnittlich zwischen 20% und 25% gesteigert wurde.

Beispiele aus der Praxis

Wie kommen diese Produktivitätsgewinne zustande? Hier ein paar Beispiele, welche Fragestellungen verbunden mit den richtigen Maßnahmen solche Produktivitätsgewinne schaffen können:

  • Arbeitsmethoden: Bisher haben wir jeden Fortschritt in einer Excel festgehalten, deren Aktualisierung mit unterschiedlichen Versionen immer für viel Arbeit und Verwirrung gesorgt hat. Mögliche Maßnahme: Online-Tools wie Trello oder Notion zur Organisation der Projekte ausprobieren, sodass keine Versionen mehr manuell zusammengefügt werden müssen.
  • Selbstorganisation & Entscheidungsprozesse: Wir wissen untereinander kaum, wie weit jemand mit seinem Teilprojekt gerade ist. Sollten wir vielleicht ein “Daily Stand-up” Format ausprobieren, um die Abstimmung im Team zu verbessern?
  • Kommunikation im Team und mit Stakeholdern: Die Entwürfe für neue Produkte werden erst relativ spät mit den Stakeholdern geteilt, wenn schon viel Entwicklungsleistung investiert wurde. Wie können wir früher und regelmäßiger Feedback von unseren Stakeholdern einholen?
  • Priorisierung: Obwohl wir im Projektverlauf neue Erkenntnisse gewonnen haben, haben wir an unserer ursprünglichen Priorisierung festgehalten. Wie können wir zukünftig sicherstellen, dass wir die Chancen aus diesen neuen Erkenntnissen in unserer Planung besser aufgreifen?

Natürlich könnten diese Themen auch ohne einen Lessons Learned Workshop erkannt und verbessert werden. Aber durch einen strukturierten Feedbackprozess – ohne den Alltagsstress – werden solche Themen häufig erst bewusst gemacht.

Ein Lessons Learned Workshop ist also ein sehr effizientes Format, wenn es darum geht Verbesserungspotentiale oder Blocker zu identifizieren und umzusetzen. Besonders positiv ist darüber hinaus, dass dieser Prozess selbstorganisiert innerhalb der Teams stattfindet, was das Engagement und die Zufriedenheit des Teams weiter steigert.

Wie kann ich einen Lessons Learned Workshop vorbereiten und durchführen? – ein Template

Die Durchführung dieser Workshops ist, wenn einmal im Team verinnerlicht, gar nicht so schwer. Das Vorgehen vereint Best practices der Workshopmoderation, die vielen bekannt vorkommen werden. Es gibt natürlich unzählige Methoden, um diese Workshops zu moderieren, aber wir wollen uns hier auf ein einfaches Beispiel konzentrieren:

Schritt 1: Check-In mit einer offenen Frage

Der Workshop soll möglichst interaktiv sein, deswegen startet man als Best Practice in der Praxis häufig mit einer offenen Frage, die jedes Teammitglied reihum kurz beantwortet. So ist jeder im Gespräch involviert. Zum Beispiel bieten sich hier an:

  • Auf einer Skala von 0 – 10, wie zuversichtlich bist du, dass wir unser Projekt-/Teamziel erreichen und warum?
  • Was war für dich der größte Rückschlag, oder größte Erfolg in der letzten Woche (bzw. Monat…)?

Schritt 2: Themen sammeln

Während der erste Schritt noch dazu dient, dass alle im Lessons Learned-Modus ankommen, folgt dann der Schritt, das Feedback strukturiert zu sammeln. Um Group-Thinking zu vermeiden, sollte dieser Schritt zuerst in Einzelarbeit erfolgen, bevor man Themen in der Gruppe teilt.

Auch hier kann man verschiedene Frageformate nutzen, um das Gespräch anzuregen. Folgende Beispiele sehen wir besonders häufig:

  • Good-Bad (einfache Variante für Einsteiger): Was lief gut? Was lief schlecht?
  • Keep-Stop-Start (beliebt, leitet besser von Status Quo zu Maßnahmen über als „Start-Stop-Continue“): Womit sollten wir im Team so weitermachen wie bisher? Womit sollten wir im Team aufhören? Womit sollten wir im Team anfangen, oder es zumindest ausprobieren?
  • Expected-Unexpected (gut zur Abwechslung): Was ist passiert, was du auch genau so im Vorfeld erwartet hast? Was ist positives passiert, womit du nicht im Vorfeld gerechnet hast? Was ist eher schlechter gelaufen, als du es erwartet hast?

Schritt 3: Themen priorisieren

Sind die Themen erstmal gesammelt und thematisch gruppiert, kann man in die Priorisierung übergehen. Hier geht es darum, die wichtigsten Themen und Erkenntnisse zu identifizieren, zu denen man im Team Maßnahmen festhalten möchte.

Im Optimalfall hat jedes Teammitglied für die Priorisierung drei Klebepunkte o.ä., die dann je nach persönlicher Präferenz an die offenen Feedbacks (die z.B. am Flipchart stehen) geklebt werden. Alternativ kann natürlich auch jeder einfach 3 Striche mit einem Edding machen. Die offenen Feedbacks, die die häufigsten Markierungen haben, scheinen am dringlichsten – hier werden Maßnahmen abgeleitet.

Schritt 4: Maßnahmen ableiten

Hier entscheidet man sich als Team, wie man die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in der Praxis umsetzen möchte. Die Maßnahmen sollten gewissen Standards, wie zum Beispiel der SMART-Formel entsprechen.

Wichtig: Denkt daran, nicht zu viele Maßnahmen zu beschließen. Konzentriert euch hier auf die maximal 3 wichtigsten Themen. Andernfalls wird es schwierig, alle Maßnahmen tatsächlich auch anzugehen, was das Team am Format der Lessons Learned als Ganzes zweifeln lässt.

Macht lieber alle 2 bis 4 Wochen eine kurze Lessons Learned mit drei Maßnahmen, als alle 6 Monate ein “großes”, von dem aber realistischerweise nur 4 von den 10 Maßnahmen umgesetzt werden.

Schritt 5: Abschluss

Am Abschluss sollte zusammengefasst werden, welche Erkenntnisse gewonnen und welche Maßnahmen festgehalten wurden. Auch diesen Schritt kann man durch eine offene Frage an alle Teilnehmenden interaktiv gestalten:

  • Was war für dich die wichtigste Erkenntnis aus dem Lessons Learned Workshop heute?
  • Was nimmst du dir selber für die nächste Zeit vor?

Lessons Learned Workshop – Fazit

Arbeiten ohne Lessons Learned = gefangen im Hamsterrad

Dieses Format braucht natürlich seine Zeit. Deswegen ist es uns wichtig, hier herauszustellen, dass früh genug Zeit für Lessons Learned Workshops geblockt werden sollte. Gerade am Ende einer Projektphase kann es stressig werden. Dies darf nicht dazu verleiten, dieses wichtige Format ausfallen zu lassen. 

Schließlich kann man nur so sicherstellen, dass man nicht beim nächsten Mal wieder in die gleichen Fallen tappt und so im Hamsterrad gefangen bleibt. Im Notfall lieber ein kurzer Lessons Learned Workshop, als gar keiner.

Im nächsten Beitrag haben wir direkt auch ein paar Tipps & weitere Best practices für deine Lessons Learned Workshops!

Du möchtest deine Teamkultur gezielt optimieren? Dann mach unseren kostenlosen Online Mindset Test, direkt aus der Psychologie:

Auf den Punkt

Weitere Artikel

Jetzt selber loslegen?

Team-Retros mit Echometer kostenlos testen & agiles Arbeiten in deiner Organisation vorantreiben.

Ich habe vor kurzem ein eBook zu „12 Retrospektive Methoden aus der Psychologie“ verfasst – Interesse?

Christian Heidemeyer, Psychologe & Scrum Master